WhatsApp clearly wants users to have more control over the photos and videos they share on the messaging app. The company recently introduced a new feature to iOS and Android beta testers, allowing them to send disappeared messages.
As reported Beta Information, WhatsApp released the “View Once” feature for iOS users on Friday, and soon after, the feature was launched for Android users. Late June. This feature allows users to send photos and videos, which will disappear from the WhatsApp chat after viewing them once.It seems to be very similar to the functionality provided Instagram with Facebook Messenger, Although Instagram allows the sender to let the recipient view the content again before it disappears.
And, of course, all these functions are based on the popular formulas of the initially disappearing media networks: Snapchat.
It is worth noting that according to the screenshots taken by WABetaInfo, the application will not prevent others from taking screenshots. If you choose to view it once, the content will disappear in the sender’s chat and the recipient’s chat. The sender will be able to check whether their content has been viewed in the chat by paying attention to the “opened” message. For Android users, this feature can also be used for group chats.
“In order to gain more privacy, your photo or video will disappear from the chat after the recipient opens it once,” reads the message in the app announcing the feature. “Remember, people can take screenshots at any time.”
The export report stated that if the recipient took a screenshot of the disappeared content, WhatsApp would not notify the user.it Explanation This is because there is no foolproof way to prevent users from taking screenshots, and claims that doing so will give users a false sense of security. Alas, who knows what people will give away. This may be accurate considering the content of the message that people send when they know that other people can take screenshots.
WhatsApp CEO Will Cathcart and Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg Personally confirm This feature will be available to WABetaInfo in early June, so it’s safe to say that we will get it soon. Zuckerberg also mentioned a “disappearance mode”, in his words, this will make all your messages in all chats disappear and make your WhatsApp experience “short”.
I mean, I guess some very private (or paranoid) people will dig into the disappearance mode, but as someone who refers to WhatsApp messages to find friend addresses and other important information, this will cause me a big problem. However, everyone has their own.