Ember Times-Issue 182


👋 Humanitarian! 🐹

Use in-elements assistants to migrate controllers to top-level components, Ember upgrade sprints, Ember development on Twitch, and part 2 of reshaping the Ember application.


Faith or (@faith-or) Wrote a blog post about how they migrated ember-wormhole To built-in in-element Assistant introduced in Ember 3.20.

Embers Wormhole Is a plugin that renders subviews elsewhere in the DOM external Component.

This In-Element Assistant Render its block content outside of the regular stream and be given by the DOM element destinationElement Position argumentation.

Common use cases for both include when a UI is a logical child of a component but needs to be presented elsewhere, such as loading screens, modals, tooltips, and even drop-down lists. The difference between the two is very small. Faith has a more detailed introduction in the blog post.

There are 3 main points.

  1. in-element The destination needs to exist before we can use it, and ember-wormhole certainly not.
  2. with in-element, When the target element changes, the content will be completely re-rendered.
  3. by default, in-element The helper will replace all the contents of the target element. (You need to configure it to not use insertBefore=null.)

Read the full text Blog posts on LinkedIn And view Demo on GitHub!


At this Blog post, Juan Manuel Azanbuja (@juanazam) Shows a real example of how to replace the content of a template with a single top-level component. Then, the top-level component can assume a similar role to the controller.

Juan suggested some tips and useful discussions about usage Embers modifier Plug-in to solve the update problem. The blog summarizes the advantages and disadvantages of the top method and warns that the framework will not fully support this solution if some compromises are not made.


A key element of application development is maintenance. If we don’t refactor code and upgrade dependencies frequently, our development cycle may slow down and we may not be able to meet compliance. When you have several applications to maintain, upgrading Ember may not be a big problem. What can you do when you have many applications to maintain and work with many others?

in Ember upgrade sprint, Steve Tyler (@stevetyler) Provides some tips for upgrading applications in each LTS version (Long-term support). In addition, Steve also shared some of the challenges you may face and how to determine the team’s sprint direction.

For more information, we encourage you to check the blog post. What insights and resources do you have about upgrading Ember apps and plugins? Please share them with the community!


Chris Manson (@mansona) Ember development has already started live on Twitch.Working on Twitch flow Chris showed how he maintains and develops in the Ember ecosystem. Each stream has a nice table of contents and time frame, in which Chris works on a certain topic.

Every Thursday 10:30-13:00 (GMT+2), You can take risks with Chris through open source contributions, chat with other Ember fans and get Enlighten Contribute yourself.


part 2 Jen Weber (@jenweber) ✨fantastic✨ The new series updates the old version of the Ember app to Octane, and the modern Ember Data strategy is now available!

in part 2, Jen covers some testing and debugging strategies Chris Soben (@runspired) Shared and especially useful when upgrading Ember applications.

From how to optimize the method of running the test suite to how to deal with linting errors to better understand the method of application test failure, there are a lot of wonderful content in the post for developers of any experience level to learn.

As this series continues, be sure to stay tuned for other posts with more exciting content!


This week we want to thank Sumit Dhanania (@sumitd94), Francesco Novi (@mydea), Hannah (she/her) (@hannakim91), Scott Newcomer (@snewcomer), Anne-Greeth van Herwijnen (@MinThaMie), Amy Lin (@amyrlam), Godfrey Chan (@chancancode), Esquith Allen (@esquith), Jared Galanis (@jaredgalanis), Camille TJHOA (@ctjhoa), Robert Jackson (@rwjblue), @sandstrom, Isaac Lee (@ijlee2), Dave Laird (@kiwiupover), Nathaniel Furniss (@nlfurniss), Chris Wu (@chrisrng), Kelly Selden (@kellyselden), Giles Thompson (@gilest), Sandmelnikov (@sandydoo), Steve Calvert (@scalvert), Stefan Penner (@stefanpenner), James Herdman (@jherdman), Matthew Bill (@mixonic), Simon ihmig (@simonihmig), Jaco Joubert (@jacojoubert), Brian Mishkin (@bmish), Charles Fries (@charlesfries), Corey Forsyth (@bantic), Chiragpat (@chiragpat), Cyril David (@dcyriller), Kategengler (@kategengler), Prakash Choudhary (@prakashchoudhary07), Ankush Dharkar (@ankushdharkar), Chris Manson (@mansona), Robert Wagner (@rwwagner90), Tim (@fozy81), Tobias Binek (@Turbo87), with Sarakop (@saracope) Thanks for their contributions to Ember and related repositories! 💖


Want to know about Ember, Ember Data, Glimmer, or plugins in the Ember ecosystem, but don’t know where to consult? Readers’ questions are only answered for you!

Submit your own Short and sweet problem under bit.ly/ask-ember-coreDon’t worry, there are no stupid questions, we thank them-guaranteed! 🤞

Want to write for Ember Times? Any suggestions for next week’s problem?join us #support-ember-times in Ember community discord Or ping us @embertimes On Twitter.

Subscribe to our channel to get the latest news from Emberland this week Email newsletter!You can also find our posts in the following locations People BlogSee you in two weeks!


That is another package! ✨

Be kind,

Tim Foster, Anne-Greeth van Herwijnen, Chris Ng, Isaac Lee, Jared Galanis, Amy Lam and the learning team



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *